ESSRI Workshop 2022

Auditorium (ESRF, Grenoble)


ESRF, Grenoble

71 Avenue des Martyrs Grenoble, France

Click HERE to join the Webinar (Plenary and Parallel sessions in the ESRF Auditorium only)

Dwindling resources together with rising energy costs and climate change are all challenges faced by the next generation of large-scale research infrastructures. Indeed, the enhanced performance of proposed new facilities often comes with anticipated increased power consumption. Sustainable developments at research infrastructures will rely on mid- and long-term strategies for reliable, affordable and carbon-neutral energy supplies.

The ESRF (European Synchrotron Radiation Facility) is pleased to host the Sixth Workshop on Energy for Sustainable Science at Research Infrastructures on 29th and 30th September 2022 in Grenoble, France in collaboration with:

  • CERN (European Organisation for Nuclear Research)
  • ESS (European Spallation Source)
  • DESY (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron)
  • PSI (Paul Scherrer Institut)
  • ERF (European Association of National Research Facilities)

The workshop is supported by I.FAST (Innovation Fostering in Accelerator Science and Technology).  It will be held in person on the EPS Campus site.

ESSRI 2022 will bring together international sustainability experts, stakeholders and representatives from research facilities and future research infrastructure projects worldwide, with the purpose of identifying the challenges, best practices and policies to develop and implement sustainable solutions at research infrastructures. This includes the increase of energy efficiencies, energy system optimizations, storage and savings, implementation and management issues as well as the review of challenges represented by potential future technological solutions and the tools for effective collaboration.

The workshop series 'Energy for Sustainable Science at Research Infrastructures' is a biannual event organised by CERN, ERF and ESS in various locations. Exceptionally, the sixth edition of the series has been selected as one of the key events of 'Grenoble: European Green Capital 2022' to enhance Grenoble's engagement in sustainability.

The first ESSRI workshop was held at ESS, Sweden on 13-14 October 2011, the second at CERN, Switzerland on 23-25 October 2013, the third at DESY, Germany on 29-30 October 2015, the fourth at ELI-NP, Romania on 23-24 November 2017 and the fifth one at PSI, Switzerland on 28-29 November 2019.

  • Alexei BOSAK
  • Andreas Jankowiak
  • Andrew Hutton
  • Anke-Susanne Müller
  • Anujraaj Gopalsamy Sakthivel
  • Ben Shepherd
  • Benjamin VINCENT
  • Benno List
  • Bernadette REMENYI
  • Chamseddine Benabderrahmane
  • Christian Nevo
  • christophe martel
  • Christopher Ripp
  • David Reinhard
  • Denise Voelker
  • Dennis Krüger
  • Diogo Monteiro
  • Ebba Jakobsson
  • Eric Montesinos
  • Francesco Sette
  • François DEBRAY
  • Frederic Bouly
  • Frederick Bordry
  • Frédéric Wurtz
  • Gaetano Catuscelli
  • Gaunand Corentin
  • Gema Martinez-Criado
  • Gianluca Luminati
  • Giovanni De Carne
  • Hans-Jörg Eckoldt
  • Heike Kampherm
  • Ignasi Serra
  • Jean-Luc Revol
  • Jean-Paul Burnet
  • Jens Stadlmann
  • Jens Völker
  • Jim Clarke
  • Joel Chavanne
  • Jose Manuel Portabella
  • Jose Perez
  • JuiChe Huang
  • Jörn Jacob
  • Karsten Kahle
  • Katrin Zerbe
  • Koseki Tadashi
  • Laurent Jolly
  • Laurent Roy
  • Lincoln Bleveans
  • Lisa Glatt
  • Lluïsa Fuentes
  • Lucas Saludjian
  • Lucio Rossi
  • Luigi Cappelli
  • Luigi SCIBILE
  • Luisa Ulrici
  • Mamad Eshraqi
  • Marcello Losasso
  • Mark Jeffers
  • Maurice Bourquin
  • Maurice Bourquin
  • Michael Krisch
  • Michel Belakhovsky
  • Michel Jarraud
  • Mike Glover
  • Mike Seidel
  • mohamed nouna
  • Mohit Agarwal
  • Mourad Kaddeche
  • Nick Zobel
  • Nicolas Bellegarde
  • Nils-Oliver Fröhlich
  • Nuria Catalan Lasheras
  • Ornela De Giacomo
  • Pawel BOROWIEC
  • Pilade Tonini
  • René Kuenzi
  • Robert Müller
  • Roberto Losito
  • Ruggero Ricci
  • Salome Shokri-Kuehni
  • Sebastian Goeller
  • Selina Storm
  • Serge CLAUDET
  • Serge Deleval
  • Serge PITTET
  • Sergio Cantarella
  • Sonja Kleiner
  • Steinar Stapnes
  • stewart scott
  • Sébastien EVRARD
  • Thierry Marchial
  • Thomas ANDRE
  • Thomas Zickler
  • Tianle Gu
  • Tiffany Price
  • Wen-Shuo Chan
  • Wim Leemans